Sudden Loss of Appetite - Seeking Advice

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mavrick

Reaction score
Okay, it sucks that it has come to this as usually I hate asking for advice here as I often get a lecture or 'know it all' comments, but I've run out of steam here. Please let it be known that I have kept reptiles since 1994 and while am no expert... I am not a beginner either. That being said, I am open to your ideas for the following problem concerning my Bredli.

I've owned my Bredli for 4 years now and he has been nothing but an enthusiastic feeder that whole time. However, he has now been refusing feeds for 6 weeks. So here is the low down on recent history and what I have tried so far to no avail.

He came out of a very light winter cooling in early September with no issues. I do this as I do not have the money or a house that can handle the higher wattage required to run a summer-ish temp during winter. He has wintered with no issues whatsoever with me for 3 years now. During this 'wintering', he still made his way to his day light, usually in early to late afternoon and had heat each night. Reduced activity is a more accurate description of my 'wintering'. He is not a breeding python.
He fed a week later with his usual vigor.
Refused a feed for the first time a fortnight later, but was dull and in shed so I put it down to that.
He shed successfully the first of October.
Has refused every feed offered since.

He is bright eyed, no discharges, still in great condition. Very active, loves to bask and run laps of his enclosure.

I offer once a fortnight, a rat of 200g+. Usually he is leaping out of the enclosure the moment I open the doors with the rat. Now I am holding it to him for five minutes with nothing but a sniff fest going on.