Can I touch the snake?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Madmick149

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone
I'm still new to keeping snakes I have a 10 month old Stimson and a 9 month our albino Darwin both amazing snakes. unfortunately the albino had been neglected by the previous owner. My Stimson is the most placid snake and handles so well tonight a friend was over who is scared stiff of snakes but she decided to face her fear and asked to touch a snake. While she was attempting to touch him the little guy just cruised over on the her hand and up her arm. Never looked like striking or biting.
My friend has fallen in love with the little guy and is now very keen on getting a snake of her own.
If I can only get the albino to settle down it will be great she is a little hit and miss one day quite as the next its I want to kill you type of thing. Iv only had her a little over a month she will settle down and be sweet as
how cool are your snakes let us know what makes your snake/snakes so awesome?

My Bredli is happy to be left alone and not handled. He's 15 and was never handled by the previous owner.
Sapphire on the other hand gets ready to strike the moment you unlock her viv. Puts on a show until I pick her up and then she's fine.

Although the other day, after holding her for 5 minutes she opened wide and hit me between the index finger and thumb and then went back to her calm self. Both my daughter and I giggled at her actions.

It was a case of "oh, he's nice, wait, let's be sure, BITE, no, hang on, it's ok, this is the nice man"

She's a pretty little love, she gets away with anything :)

Most times I walk past, put my hand in so she can have a smell and then take my hand out after about a minute without picking her up or touching he.