Question about housing a python

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Doonta

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone please dont shoot me for this as i know i might get a few mixed responses and well im still learning a bit :) currently my few week old jungle x diamond is abit over 1 foot nothing crazy small but neither crazy big. I was looking for opinions on if i could place him inside his future enclousure which is 2 ft high, 2 ft long and 1 ft wide. Of course i will be purchasing some stuff for him to climb on and maybe even a few extra small hides etc tomorrow at the penrith expo if possible. My only reasoning is he seems to look slightly too long for his current viv which came with him when i purchased him and is always exploring on ways to get out mainly. Any help would be awesome thanks

Hey buddy, welcome. If you have a correct temperature gradient with enough hides along it, I don't believe you will have an issue. Check for escape routes and again, in this instance, the more hides, the better.

Otherwise you will find that reptiles don't tend to mind a smaller space as long as they are secure and can move about.

Hey buddy, welcome. If you have a correct temperature gradient with enough hides along it, I don't believe you will have an issue. Check for escape routes and again, in this instance, the more hides, the better.

Otherwise you will find that reptiles don't tend to mind a smaller space as long as they are secure and can move about.
Ok great. The bigger tank i have has all the correct sealed bits thanfully. Atm im using a 100wt infered heat light on a dimming thermo. Is there another method you would suggest to help gain the correct gradient on the cooler side? Or would you suggest
to leave it one side hot one cool so he himself may pick
the temp.