Snake ID Bredli/Murray darling?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MontyTheBredl

Reaction score
Hey guys, long time no post. I've just bought another leg less friend, but a bit unsure on the species. It was advertised as a centrilian/Bredli but I have doubts. He said it's 7 y/o so fully grown but it's still pretty small, maybe 1.5m. He's a beautiful snake, very placid, healthy and happy. If anyone has any input it would be greatly appreciated, it doesn't worry me it's more the curiosity! :)

1znli84.jpg

Personally I'd lean towards an MD but I am far from an expert, the Bredili I've seen have always had that rich reddish colouring but then again I've seen some images of more brownish examples. I definitely don't think it's a coastal though.

It looks nothing like what people refer to as a Murray Darling Joerg. They have a completely different colour and pattern. I'd have to agree with Peter and if anything call it as a common coastal.

Im no expert but it looks like a coastal to me

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

The thing is he is supposedly 7 y/o but only 5-6ft long? He wasn't kept with any heat source for the past 4 years :( (Melbourne climate) and only fed every 3-4 weeks so that could be why. At least now he's in a heated tank and loving the basking spots and frequent meals. Thanks for the input everyone, much appreciated. Here's another pic of him, he's a lovely snake.

15yvukg.jpg

It looks nothing like what people refer to as a Murray Darling Joerg. They have a completely different colour and pattern. I'd have to agree with Peter and if anything call it as a common coastal.