Temperature Control

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MishkaMoo

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to this! I got my hypo bredli a few days ago and he has settled into his new home nicely, but I'm in the process of building his big forever home.

My question is that basically I want to run two heat globes (night/day) on a Thermostat/timer set up. Is there a unit that will do this, or do I need to rethink this through? I'd like to set it up and during the night hours, the night globe does its thing and during the day, the day globe is in use maintaining temperatures.

Thank you!! :)

My lights are on a electronic timer (on at 6am, off at 9:30pm).
My heat pads run 24/7 and each in on simple thermostat (set to 38oC for the beardies, 32oC for the skinks).

I would suggest a heat mat connected to a thermostat. Also I would use a basking lamp During the day probably 100w-150w and if needed A CHE for night time ambient warmth. The basking lamp I would not connect to a thermostat but the CHE I would.

i use a normal light on a timer i got from bunnings and a habistat pulse proportional thermostat for my heat panel on the ceiling of the enclosure

Awesome guys! Thanks heaps, so heat lights on a normal timer and just put the heat mat on a Thermostat?

Do you have the heat mat in the viv or under it? I have it under the current one and it doesn't seem to heat the tank much, I'm getting a bigger viv (60x45x50) on Tuesday, so thinking about getting the exo terra hood that has three globes in it? Atm he's in a smaller (30x30x30) with a single heat globe in the hood but the temp seems to sit around 29/31 depending on room temp. Which I realise isn't warm enough, hence the focus on heating questions. :)

- - - Updated - - -

By the way, he's still only a baby just under 2 months old. :)

Last edited: