My Partner wants me to "get rid" of my snake!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pixie

Reaction score
So I've been living with this guy for a year, we are engaged and about to start ivf.
Recently he's asked (well no, he's TOLD me) to rehome my 10y/o coastal carpet python.

He then got the grumps that I compared it to making him choose between me and the kid he's already got!

Totally don't know what to do.

To put it into perspective he also hates my cats and thinks pets are a stupid and expensive hobby... This has all sort of happened because I work in healthcare and live outside the 20min radius so I sleep at work 5 nights a week (I do the late shift then I am on call until the lab opens in the morning).. So he's had to start looking after my pets because I'm only home 4 hours a day and I sleep for most of those.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I'm probably jumping straight in the deep end with what I'm about to type, but here goes anyway.

Get rid of him. Your pets are an extension of who you are and he is essentially trying to change you. That's not a good start to a marriage.

Or you could just feed and clean up after your animals in that 4 hours you spend at home to shut him up. They are your responsibility after all.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

*Joke incoming*

Give him the finger and say "it's you or the Coastal, and the Coastal doesn't winge, complain and isn't half as expensive as you"

In all seriousness, I have no experience with engagement but if he doesn't want to compromise then either ditch him or stop him from his hobbies. If you can't have yours, why should he have his?

Good luck with it, I know what I would choose but it's completely up to you. It's your life at the end of the day.