BTS chasing reflection in glass

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rawlo

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm very new to reptiles, (5 days) I did lots of research and made a purchase, a young eastern blue tongue, he's very friendly and is healthy and eating etc, but tonight I noticed he was trying to scale the glass and was hissing at the glass, dunno why it's kinda random that he's just started now but anyway just wondering if it's alright or if I should stop him from doing it, if so how would I go about stopping him cheers
Dan
PS go easy on me I'm 14 [emoji23][emoji23]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

"He" sees what he thinks is another BTS in there with him .... lol .... quite normal behaviour , he's probably also still a bit relocation stressed too which will make him a bit grumpy.

You can remove "the other ghost lizard" by lining the bottom part of the walls with cardboard or paper .... no more ''ghost" lizard staring back at him where-ever he looks.

Give us a run down on how you've set him up ...

uv lighting and distance from him for it
basking light
temperatures (cool zone, warm zone , basking spot)
duration lights/heat are on each day
bedding
size of tank
feeding schedule (when and what)
water dish (how deep is water)

experienced bts keepers here can likely spot any problems if they have the above information.

Last edited:
Is the tank in a busy area? If so for a reptile in a new environment, that can stress them out and cause that behavior. A towel or sheet thrown over the front of the cage for a few days can help him settle in. Although I'd try kingofnobbys method first.

Welcome to the world of BTS :) Great choice for a first reptile. We do like pics too when you get a chance...