An embarassing confession

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

littlemay

Reaction score
So I have an embarrassing confession, I am 26 years old and I cannot drive a car :oops:. This might not seem like a big deal, but to me it's becoming a huge thing; like a big, glowing sign of my failure to exist as an fully functional and independent person. I've struggled with depression and anxiety most of adult life and to be completely honest, driving terrifies me. I worry that i'll be terrible at it, that i'll destroy someone's property, that I might accidentally kill someone. So far I've been able to manage pretty alright with public transport in Sydney, but I hate how much I still have to rely on other people to get certain things done.

Anyway, i'm trying to get my courage together to book some lessons today and even just thinking about it right now is putting me on edge. I drove a little bit in my dad's manual once when I first got my Ls at 16 and I just remember it being so difficult, so i'm thinking maybe I should just try auto to at least get me in a car without having a full blown panic attack. Has anyone else had this experience of learning to drive as a late bloomer? Any tips, advice, encouragement? Help me APS!

I got my license at 18 about a month after my birthday but went for auto because I was too impatient to wait till I'd had enough lessons in a manual to be ready and I do not regret a thing.

Fast forward to after I got off my p's and I can now drive either and even owned and drove a manual for three years.

If auto eases your anxiety, then do it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk