Weird Behaviour Jungle 3yrold

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

floweringqueen

Not so new Member
Reaction score
I'm new to this and learning slowly.. I've had Dayah for a few months and she seemed settled in her new larger enclosure. She has decided suddenly, with change of owner, that she doesn't think rats are pretty enough to eat :oops: So she had 5wks then 7wks no food. Eventually I feed her F/T quail & mice and all is dandy. My first question is why is there such an emphasis on feeding rat over mice? Apart from the convenience of defrosting one animal over 2 or 3...?

Temps 21 in the water bowl down on the ground, 25 on the middle branch and 28/29 on the basking hide.

Lately she has been swimming alot, the past 2 days she has been coiled totally inside her water bowl. the WHOLE day, not sure what she is doing at 3am though, possibly roaming around.. NSW temps outside are like 22-27, so not exceedingly hot.

I understand this is natural behaviour when hot or pre-shed but she shed well at end of July & I don't think its too hot. She was really cold and slow when i removed her from the bowl..

The other odd thing I've noticed, prior to this, is like an abrasion on her nose, a red scaly, almost scabby area (pic attached). It is possible she's scraped her nose on the new abrasive concrete background (she was used to glass and fake grass before), or burnt herself on the heat lamp. But that seems unlikely.

Today, after extricating her from her apparent sit-out in the water bowl, I notice red spots on her chin... haven't seen this before and wonder what it is? Can you help? She successfully fed on 2 adult mice so her mouth is working OK ;-)

IMAG1888_1.jpgedited_1474625404569.jpgIMAG1887_1.jpgIMAG1871_1.jpg

Last edited: