Heating/Lighting Setup Stimson's python

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

shegleg

Reaction score
Hi everyone, newbie here. I was just wondering if anyone could help me setting up a home for a Stimson's python. I am waiting for my reptile license to come through and I thought I'd use the next couple of weeks to buy all the supplies and setting everything up before I start looking for a snake. I am hoping to pick up a terrarium similar to this later this week (second hand off gumtree). Dimensions are 65cm x 45cm x 30cm. I am okay with acquiring the hiding spots for my new buddy, the substrate, the food, the water bowl and a basking branch/log.
The parts I am stuck on are the heating light and uv light. I would like to get something that automatically turns on and off and regulates the temperature. I also read it needs to be setup so the snake can't burn itself? How would I position the lamp in this type of tank? Also how many watts would the lamp need to be? If you could possibly link to where to buy the items you recommend that would be very helpful. Thank you in advance for your help.

Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 9.46.03 PM.png

Hi and welcome to APS, and the world of reptile-keeping.
On here you will get the right advice, but I would recommend your first purchase is one or both of the following excellent books.
Keeping and Breeding Australian Pythons, by Mike Swan.
A Guide to Australian Pythons in Captivity, by Adam Elliott.
You will refer to these many times, and they will be worth the investment now.
First question is how old is the Stimson's you are getting? A hatchling or juvenile will benefit from being in a smaller size, such as a plastic tub or click clack, heated with a heat cord or heat mat.