how to keep basking point temp stable for bearded dragons? please help

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

deadset

Reaction score
hi all
im new to keeping reptiles and i have just got two young beardies

the trouble is im having a really hard time keeping their basking spot temp steady, im trying to keep a big rock at around 40 degrees. i have them in a 4ft glass enclosure with reptile one uvb 10.0 tube, 150watt ceramic heat emitter connected to dimming thermostat and a reptile one 35watt halogen light.

thermostat sensor is about 25cm from CHE. CHE is about 13cm above basking spot.

ideally i would like their basking spot/big rock to stay close to 40 degrees and most of the time it is but for some reason it sometimes drops down very low (around 25 degrees) and then back up again and continues to drop and rise. i assume it is the thermostat dimming the heat source that is causing this because when the big rock temp drops the CHE temp also drops down to about 50deg although it is usually around 150-200deg

if anyone knows how to keep basking spot temp stable or has any advice it would be much appreciated.

thanks

Attachments

• IMG_0629.jpg
    IMG_0629.jpg
    98.9 KB · Views: 254
  • IMG_0632.jpg
    IMG_0632.jpg
    103.4 KB · Views: 527
  • IMG_0628.jpg
    IMG_0628.jpg
    93.6 KB · Views: 152
If I was you I would hook up a 50W spotlight above the basking site with no thermostat.If that didn't get adequate temps go up to a 60 or 75W depending on how far out the temp was.Maybe keep the che on a thermostat if you wanted to supply some background heat overnight.