Baby Carpet Python Enclosure (need help!)

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karuandragons

Reaction score
Hi all, I know this question has probably been asked a billion times, but I'm new in keeping snakes and want to do my full research before I go out and buy one. I currently own a blue tongue skink (have owned him for 6 years) so I have general knowledge in reptiles, however I've been dying to get a snake for ages and now I finally have the opportunity for it.

I've been looking into getting a Darwin Carpet python, more specifically an albino or sunglow morph, and currently there are breeders around my area with hatchlings/baby ones available. Doing research, I learnt that most owners house hatchlings/babies in plastic tubs for the first few months before putting them in larger tubs/enclosures by the time they are yearlings. Going through this forum however, I've seen owners keep their babies in proper enclosures instead of tubs - which, I'd personally prefer rather than plastic tubs. But I want what's best for the snake, and I'd love to hear your opinions/knowledge of keeping baby carpet pythons.

If I go with the plastic tub, what sizes do you recommend and what heatmats are best? I know a lot of petstores contain "hatchling kits" (small enclosures that come with the basics, such as a heatmat, water dish, etc) but I've seen mixed opinions on them and cheaper alternatives (however I do not want what's cheapest for the snake, I want what's best).

Any help is welcome! and any pictures of your babies are welcome too!