Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Variegata

Not so new Member
Reaction score
I don't want to seem stingy. But what's the cheapest reptile to maintain and breed?

I want to start breeding reptiles, not for money or anything, that's why I don't mind if they're cheap. I just like the idea of bringing more herps into the world. I dunno, it just seems like a good experience.

Anyway, because I've never bred anything before I'd like to know the cheapest and easiest reptile to breed and maintain. There seems to be pros and cons of each reptile, Geckos are generally expensive to buy, but cheap to house and feed. Some carpet pythons would be cheap, but I'm relatively new to snakes compared to lizards. Bearded dragons are cheap to buy but expensive to house and feed.

So what's the cheapest all-round reptile to breed? Preferably no skinks as they're my least favorite kind of reptile.

i found knob tailed gecko's easy to breed i had them in tubs with heat cord and just fed and sprayed them they did the rest

i also found alot of teh smaller spp of monitor super easy to breed all you have to do is smash them with food and keep them super hot! the only drawback is keeping a 60 dagree celcious basking spot 12hrs a day isint cheap

these unusual guys were easy as anything to breed as a matter of fact if anyone has any that are breeding id be interested in some young!

what city/state do you live in? do you own your own house or are you renting these are valid questions as if you own your own house and put in a pit it will serve you well for dragons and skinks or even monitors depending on what state your in

Geckos seem to be the easiest reptile to house, so I might look into that. What are those dragons? Going by the two lines are they two-lined dragons? haha.