Colour changing as pythons age

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Slytherin

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
I'm a newbie and curious - Has anyone found that their young morelia pythons colours and patterns change obviously as they age? (Besides the GTP :rolleyes:) Or put another way - Can you tell what a python is going to look like as an adult when they are still young...Can their colour and/or patterning change significantly? Can this vary among the hatchlings of one clutch?

I have a 6mth old SA MD and am curious as to what he/she may develop into and if there is the likelyhood of it getting the tan/brown within its patterns even though its patterns are still only black. (Its father has only a little of this colouration but I couldn't tell from the mother as she was due for a shed.)

:D

Do you think there may be a chance that some tan/brown could appear as he/she ages? I love the contrast on Snakey now, and the black patterns are intricate, it would be fantastic if he/she would 'colour up' a little.

Hey Slytherin

Jungles for example can be a really nice black and gold as youngsters then dull out dramatically as they age.

Scorps

Thats interesting, I wonder why. Isn't it normally the other way around in nature, dull when young, getting more brilliant when older?

bredlis are the opposite. normally dark and dull as babies, but colour up beautifully as adults.

What about Murray Darlings, especially the ones with the red-brown in them, is that able to be seen in the hatchies/juvvies or does that only come in as they get older?

my little diamond didnt look to special whten it was younger but even at 6months its starting to show some really nice yellows which werent there before:)