Heat Cords?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sharky

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Apologies for posting so much, I just need some help and advice!

What size and wattage heat cord will I need to heat a 180x55cm enclosure?(Temp needs to be sitting at 32 degrees) And how do I use one? Do I stick it underneath, do I use aluminium heat tape? What do I do with the excess chord if there is any? And is there a certain way/pattern I should stick it to the bottom of the enclosure? And what is the probe at the end for?

Thanks guys! Sorry for the stupid questions, I'm not an expert and I don't want to cause a fire or something just because I pretended to know what I was doing.
Cheers :)

Short answer is "it depends"

What are the temps in the room that the enclosure is in?

What type of reptile is it going to be for?

Room temp varies...normally sits around 18-21degrees in my room (Where the enclosure will be kept.) Enclosure is for a spotted python...could probably fit something bigger though :/

How much of it are you trying to heat? Get a piece of string or something and lay it down in the area you want it, put it in a spiral patern or whatever you like and you'll find your length. The closer the cord is together the more focused the heat will be. You could route out grooves for it to sit in or you could drill holes in the enclosure and fix it down with cable ties, shouldnt really matter how you do it if you put a tile ontop of it and use a thermostat. I imagine the smallest size & wattage heatcord would do for a sigle tank though.

Heating half the enclosure. Ah thank you! I'll use the string idea, very useful! :D Thanks Trimeresurus :)