I found an Eastern Longneck Turtle an have no experience with turtles

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

helena

Reaction score
Hi
I am trying to find an experienced turtle owner who lives in Melbourne and would like to have the turtle that I found.
Earlier in the week I found what I believe to be an eastern longneck walking along a bike path near my house. I took it home to make sure it was out of danger, thinking that it must be a neighbour's pet. (I've put up posters in the neighbourhood but so far no one has resonded). I have no experience with turtles, and have now learnt online that eastern longnecks are one of the hardest turtles to keep as a pet. I am not a suitable owner and I would love for this turtle to have a happy, healthy home.

Only early respondents, as well as people who are capable of housing the turtle in a happy & healthy environment and would be able to offer a small amount of money will be taken into consideration.

Thanks very much.

So you are selling a turtle that you found? Why are you asking for a small amount of money??

These turtles are found around Melbourne's waterways and are very common. What suburb are you in?

release it, its illegal to take and sell reptile found in the wild and it can result in hefty fines

I do not want to release the turtle into the wild if I can avoid it, because I have heard that these kind of actions can upset existing ecosystems, bring in disease, etc
I was fairly certain that the turtle was a local pet, but from what you've said Jay84 it's much more likely that the turtle came from my neighbourhood's canal (Elsternwick canal). Maybe I should return it.
Forgive me for asking for money... kind of a struggling uni student at the moment. My main concern is making sure this turtle is going to be okay.