Newbie... first snake questions

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Black.Rabbit

Reaction score
Hey there... as the subject suggests I am a newbie

I obtained my licence 6 months ago but have only got around to organising a pet snake for myself now :)

After much.. MUCH research I am pretty sure I have decided on a Woma... The docile/easy feeding/curious nature appeals to me (and my 4 year old son). I have found a breeder in Sydney who will have $300 NT woma hatchings in the next week or two, so after they have a couple of feeds I'll probably get one...

I think they are gorgeous however I am more appealed to snakes with a more defined head such as a rough-scaled or darwin... or centralian. Although I have read all day that they tend to be snappy and can be hard to feed for the first year (except for the roughy)

I only have a R1 licence and roughys are a R2 classed snake which REALLY sucks because I think they look better than the woma.

I have read a lot on darwins although not much on centralians so any more info on those from their owners would be much appreciated!

Is there anything anyone can suggest?? a snake with a woma personality with a more defined head? lol... picky aren't I??

as you read through threads on here for newbies you will find most people will agree each snake has its own personality. woma's are a great snake. have a high feeding response but are also very docile.
my 1st snake was a jungle and he was also very placid and in the 1st 3 years didnt bite me at all.
go through some of the other threads about 1st snakes and see what you think for yourself.
good luck

Hi :),

My first snake was a centralian and she hasn't bitten or even tried to since i got her, and my second, third and forth :p were Darwin all lovely,
as bucky said all snake have there own personality :D,