Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

D1ABLO

Reaction score
So, I have been loving and raising my little Jungle Python for about 8 months now, and i was reading through the forum, and couldnt work out something.

It seems to me, that the cost of breeding snakes is pretty equal between the species, yet, some pythons are sold for 300 dollars or less, while others are sold for Thousands.

Now, im not a retard, i understand that some are more rare then others, like if you had a rough scaled python or something, then it would be worth Huge amounts. And i realise that once a snake has grown for a year or two, its colors mature, and you find stunning patterns develop that would raise the price, but how come people think that they can charge over a thousand bucks for a hatchling??

i was pretty keen on throwing some more cash into the hobby, and pick up another snake this breeding season, after i finish building the enclosure that im working on.

After having a look around, i quite like the Green Tree Python, and the Black headded. yet, both of these snakes cost the majority of a bloody paycheque...

So, i guess what i am asking, is:

Why do you charge more money for breeds that are not particularly rare???

some are harder to breed.. some have smaller clutches thus less are produced.. some have more demand because they might look nicer or something.

iv heard BHP's are fairly difficult to breed, hence the higher price even though they are comming down

Like James said there is not one single factor but many (too many to list) that determine the price of a particular snake. You just need to work out how much your willing to spend and try to get something you want that fits your budget.