Suggestins?Rat with micoplasmosis ?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

soundfix

Reaction score
Hi all, i have a 14 month old male rat,that had a series of broncial probs,-has had antibiotics,been on a nebuliser with ALBUTEROL, but after weeks of good days and bad,its finally caught up.
At the moment,his breathing is so laboured,he is breathing from his abdomen, and occaisionally opening his mouth and gasp.
This can not go on, and i will most probably have hime euthenaised tomorrow.
Realise its late, not much time, but he's is suffering and i had to try something.ThanksIMG_0152.jpgThis is the little guy in better days.

sorry to hear buddy, i have a male rat about 12 weeks now. can i ask what do you mean by you had to try something ???

:(

sorry mate, im a vet nurse and had a rat with serious myco for 3 yrs, passed away in october 3 days before her 3rd bday :( i treated her mostly with a combo of BAYTRIL oral, VENTOLIN oral and the most important one, VIBRAVET (DOXYCYCLINE) oral paste. its a horrible disease but things like steaming, physio and medication really help. good luck mate, and if you want to help make him more cumfy try putting his cage in the bathroom and running a hot shower to steam the room

We had the same issue with one of our rats and we fixed it using Baytril, for an adult male rat we dose .2ml once a day.
It tastes awful so we mix it with a little passionfruit syrup and custard and use a syringe to squirt it into their mouth (Gently not like a water gun just fast enough for them to lap it up as it comes out.)
Also try to give them a lot of fatty foods as they drop a lot of weight, try chicken skin, pork fat or any other fat from roasts and what not.
Hope this helps and Good luck.