Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

beardy_boy99

Reaction score
i no crested dragons are a new reptile over here to keep(i think) so i cant find any info on them!:cry: I would be really happy if any1 could post some sites or info on them:D:):D:). I am interested in them and am looking 2 keep 1.:lol:

thanx in advance every1!;)

G'day mate,

I have never kept Crested Dragons, but I know a few people who do. I'm not sure if you are new to the reptile keeping game, but if you are new, prior to getting Cresteds I would suggest keeping and breeding Inland Bearded Dragons, and then another less hardy species like Ctenophorus vadnappa (Red Barred Dragons) or Ctenophorus nuchalis (Central Netted Dragons).

i dont really want netteds due to their life span and i am kind of new to the reptile keeping game, though cant find any info on red barred dragons. PM me some info on them if possible. And im not really keen on breeding, coz i really dont now how

G'day mate,

I am pretty sure I have read a basic article on the captive husbandry of Cresteds, I will see if I can dig it up. But like I said, I strongly suggest getting some experience with some of the less hardy dragons before you dive head first into Cresteds. Their husbandry is more complex than that of a basic Beardie, and I also doubt you'd find a breeder who would be willing to sell their young to someone inexperienced with the less common dragons.

jono, is right they are a little more advanced compaired to other dragons i think it is because they cover so much space in the wild and single males patrol large teritories, have kept and breed them before. vadnappa is a good starter, but they are a rock dragon not like the crested.