Diamond Python Winter Feeding

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CC_Viper

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've got a diamond/coastal cross python and he's gone off food for the past 6 weeks. As I am new to owning a snake I was wondering when I should try and feed him again.

I've owned the snake since Nov and he's been on a 2 -3 week feeding schedule and has accepted food without issue until recently. The snake is approx. 3 years old and was purchased as a rescued pet.

Any insight would be appreciated.

In addition I am curious how many diamond owners have experienced the snake going into their water bowl on an ongoing basis. I can assure everyone that there are no mites present as well. He'll bask as usual the go into the water bowl for extended periods. The tank temps are 30'C in the basking area and about 20'C in the cool end.

I've had diamonds for 9 years now and none of mine get fed from April to October, they are very healthy animals and seem to benefit from the time off, lean diamonds are healthy diamonds. As for the water if you are sure there are no mites, maybe he just likes a swim how and again.

If its your first snake and you`ve only had him since November don't be surprised if he has mites and you just don`t know what to look for. He may not but I wouldn't rule it out all together. One of my diamonds spends a lot of time in his water, the others not so much.
Also as already stated your diamond doesn't need to be fed this time of year (April-Sep/Oct)

Last edited by a moderator: