ID this for me pleaee?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
L

LizardLady

As the title suggests, I'd really like an ID on this critter...

Thanks!

Attachments

• DSCF1620.JPG
    DSCF1620.JPG
    443.2 KB · Views: 346
Just checked my Guide to Australian reps and it looks simular to Aprasia Striolata, but im no expert...Eipper Help

Well guys, I thought our Eipper might have come on and clarified this for us (he already had the heads up on it, before you guys did! :)), but alas!

So, I will tell you, Smithers is 100% correct (chocky frog in the mail for you!) - it is indeed an Aprasia striolata. Surprising really, considering the last "reported" sighting (in SA) was at Naracoorte Coastal Plain back in 1968. The last Victorian sighting was at Little Desert, near the SA/Vic border, but a date was not supplied. One prior to this was at the same place (Little Desert), 4.8km East of the SA Border back in 1969.

And, while I'm at it, I am absolutely thrilled to bits to have had the opportunity to see this amazing animal up close, and even more thrilled that my friend was the one to officially have the "rescue"!

Thanks all for your replies!

Best,
Carolyn

PS Oh, and for anyone interested, I will be contacting our DEH as soon as they open this morning, as to what they'd recommend for the animal's future!

Last edited by a moderator:
Animal's future? Why not leave it where you found it or return it to where it is from?

Aprasia are not kept in captivity due to their dietary requirements so I doubt it will last long if kept.

Last reported sighting in SA was in 1968? Wow, I found one two months ago outside Robe and have found them in the Adelaide Hills. Like you said, beautiful animals that will likely be included in their own family/subfamily of Aprasiadae soon enough.