Melamine snake enclosure .. Difficulty: Expert ?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Variety

Reaction score
Im a landscaper and alot of my work involved building decks and hand rails, 2nd attempt at a melamine enclosure 1200 x 595 x 595 and its ended up costing alot more then it should have.
First try i hard to rebuy 2 bits of melamine because the wood split so i pre drilled and eliminated that, had to take 15mm off my sheet of glass so bought a glass cutter and cracked my $45 peice of 5mm curved plate glass beyond repair.

Is it me or do these things look alot easier to build then what they are ?

It's you.At the end of the day it is just a box.
Easy to get material cut to size then just assemble like you wrote.Pre drill then screw it all together.

Since you build decks and handrails I guess you would measure twice and cut once? same for enclosures.

thats the frustrating part, it is just a box haha. Take 3 this weeknd

Could not be any easier ... if you can knock up a deck , a box should be a walk in the park.

A few tips , DO NOT use melamine from bunnings , it's utter crap .. get some decent stuff from a kitchen mob.
Getting it cut to size is a good idea too ..

Good to see a fellow landscaper on APS, hot tip is to make friends with any cabinet makers/kitchen guys you might meet on site. Agree with dickyknee the quality of the off the shelf melamine at bunnings is rubbish, the stuff kitchen and cabinet makers use has much better glues used in the bonding of the melamine, particularly the kitchen guys, gotta remember that stuff has to cope with heat and moisture so is manufactured accordingly

Could not be any easier ... if you can knock up a deck , a box should be a walk in the park.