Newbie help...

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Miss_Kaos

Reaction score
yep, im a newbie. lets get past this and onto what everyone likes, namely the snakes.
what i would like to know is when i get a snake, what should i get, how much it will cost, how long it lives for, how big it gets, what size enclosure id need, any other species-specific requirements etc.
i have searched the net and have found a whole pile of confusion and conflicted data. i would really like some clear-cut help.
thanks in advance :)

Depending on what type of species you're after will depend on all of the above, I suggest you click on WIki on APS and then Species Profiles and have a quick read.

thanks, yeah. i was going for either an inland carpet or something smaller(but not much), and i havent found anything right in the middle, ie. not as big as even an inland but bigger than the childrens family.
any suggestions?

Stimson Python, they come in different locality and colours and only grow to a max of 1m

sorry about confusing everyone. im pretty sure i want an inland carpet. can anyone help me with my questions now ive defined them?

First thing first. Do you have a license?

I'd look for your local herp society and get along to a meeting, you can talk to people instead of post and wait. Go to a couple of pet shops that sell reptails ask questions. If you have any questions about what they say post back here.

Find a breeder and visit. Ask them questions. You can also get some realistic idea of the size you are looking at not just a pic on the net or in a book.

Buy some books.

Set yourself a budget and go nutts :D

thanks for the help. does anyone know respectable dealers in the easern suburbs of melbourne?

First thing first. Do you have a license?