Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

A.l.a.n.a

Reaction score
I am hopefully going to convince my parents to let me have a snake and I was wondering if what I've heard about some snakes is correct.

I was considering a type of Carpet Python, or maybe a Stimsons (hope i spelt that correctly, I'm going off memory). I've heard that most of the Carpet Pythons are placid and almost "bulletproof".

I have had very little experience handling snakes so I'm looking for one that won't get upset with a novice handling it. Is there any other types of pythons that anyone would recommend?

Also would you recommend a male or female?

Male or female, really no difference in temprement. as both can be bitey and both can be placid just depends on preference..

For beginners I was reccommended anything from the anteresia family ( maculosa, childrens and stimsons), bredli, carpets are ok, but full grown can reach up to 3m so you have to be able to keep such a large snake...

also try searching snakes for beginners or something similar, as you'll get loads of info :)

Need anything else, yell over the fence :D

Last edited:
hi

it depnds what sized snake you expect it to be, if you want a "small one" then a spotted pythin is probably best, but if you want a larger one then a carpet would be good, but I don't recommend jungles or Drawin's as good handlers.

See other posts here and you will (hopefully) be told that snakes aren't an animal that should be handled regularly.

Must ask is that you in your avatar?

cheers

Male or female, really no difference in temprement. as both can be bitey and both can be placid just depends on preference..