Tattoo minimum age

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all. My 16 year old daughter wants a tat! (against my wife's better judgement). She has tried in Adelaide but the minimum age here is 18. We are coming up for a holiday in a couple of weeks to the Gold Coast. What are the laws in QLD? If need be we are willing to authorise it as her parents if consent is required.

Cheers, Fester

The law is 18 in all staes bar NSW but you must be a resident, this is not to say some unscrupulous tattoist will ignore this and do it anyway.

Should this happen you do have a legal recourse it is a chargable offence "assult of a minor" and you will be able to sue to have the tattoo removed.

As far as I'm aware (I'm a Victorian tattoo artist) it's 18 all over Australia, with the exception of NSW where a minor (16-18) can be tattooed with parental consent. You MUST be a NSW resident, not merely a visitor. There is a loophole in Victoria where you can be tattooed at 16, but it involves consent from a court. We can all the guess the chances of that, right? Mind you, I tried to get the age limit for tattooing RAISED to 21, so I'm not too upset about the law as it stands.

i got my first at 15 without consent in central coast nsw and they are extreamly hygenic, i have returned many times to the same shop and person.

I know atleast 5 people who have gotten tattoos under the age of 18.
3 of the people had Parental Concent and the other 2 just looked 18 and didn't get asked for I.D