The right central bearded dragon set up.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dutchy88

Reaction score
G'day all,

So I'm jst gettin set up for my first central beardy. Im only new to the game so I thought I'd get some ideas and ask a few questions any help would be great.

I got a 100*50*50cm wooden virvarium, two lights one for UVB on for heat, red desert sand, a rock hide slash water feeder and a large log at the heat end and a food bowl. I think thats pretty much all I need (if ya think I need anything else let me know) so a few questions, is it ok to have the UVB and the heat light in the same spot so he can get both at the same time? Whats an ideal heat (both hot and cold end of the tank)? Is it ok to get two beardeys from the same clutch living together? What watt heat light is recommended? Is a thermostat necessary? Any help on this stuff would be greatly appreciated just want a happy healthy beardy

also a newbie to this but can help with some bits
make sure if your keeping water in there to keep an eye on the humidity and have only a few mm deep if at all - they are from the desert and dont see much water they get most of it from their food and just give them a spray once or twice a day.
i have my uvb and heat at the same end - i dont see how it would be a problem unless having them both their heats it up too much
hot end high 30s - about 38 -> basking temp around 40 - 41 -> cool side high 20's low 30's
make sure they can get about 6 - 12 inches away from their uvb and they will choose where they want to sit depending on if they need more or less heat.