Sugar Glider Questioms

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

snakeluvver

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Hi I would LOVE to get a Sugar Glider!!!!! I'd just like to know where they can be bough and how much they usually cost? Also, how are they as far as handling? Thanks

Mate, I'm not sure you should be considering a sugar glider as a substitute for a hamster! :p

I have no experience with them, only what I've heard from others. I'm sure someone will be able to answer your Qs.

PS. get a rat. they have great personalities, don't smell, and can be litter trained. boys are big snugglers, girls are quirky and curious, and they are all pretty hardy ;)

My mum doesn't like rats :rolleyes: lol And the reason I'm looking at Sugar Gliders is my friend has one i absolutely fell in love with he's been keeping them for years and he said they're quite easy to care for.

I don't think they are very good handling because they are always trying to escape, you'd have to have some kind of license to, you can check that on the dse website.I'm pretty sure they're reasonably expensive too. keeping them happy, fit and healthy would be your biggest troubles.

They are only legal in some states, in QLD they are not allowed unfortunately. We had 2 squirrel gliders for 14yrs on a permit for life, absolutely loved them & wish we could get captive ones. Remember they live in colonies so it is best if you get a pair. I think they are about $300 but not sure. You will need a big cage or aviary, they need heaps of room plus loads of handling or they get a bit feral. They are always on the move so make sure if you get them out the room is sealed.